Easy Homemade Granola (warning this will make your house smell incredible!)

My new favorite snack:

:Image

Homemade Granola

Yes, the fact that I am now making my own granola does make me chuckle. Especially because last year someone actually called me “granola”, which I’m not even sure what that means, or how she could tell anything about me because I was volunteering at a music fest and wearing a staff t-shirt and jeans?  But I can laugh at myself, my hybrid driving, bring my own bag to the store, yoga-loving, kale chip eating self. So it shouldn’t surprise anyone who knows me that I’ve started making my own granola, it’s delicious, I can out in whatever I like and it’s cheaper because this recipe makes a lot of granola.

So on Pinterest I found a recipe for homemade granola and I pinned it, thinking it would be a great thing to make for Christmas to send out to relatives and you know what it was. It was super easy to make, made a ton of granola and I know it’ll keep well. It actually made more than I needed so I’ve been snacking on it and have since made another batch it’s so delicious! And so easy! I cut the original recipe in half because like I said it made a ton, too much to fit on my baking sheet.

Ingredients:

2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (quick cooking)

½ cup slivered almonds

1/8 cup unsalted pepitas

¼ cup pure maple syrup

2 tbsp canola oil (I used safflower and want to try coconut oil next time…)

¼ tsp kosher salt

½ cup dried fruit

Directions:

Heat oven to 350

On a rimmed baking sheet toss oats, almonds, coconut, and pepitas together

Mix maple syrup, oil, and salt in bowl and drizzle over oat mixture, use hands to mix it up (could be a fun kids activity)

Bake, tossing once until golden 25-30 minutes

Add dried fruit let cool

Leave a Reply

