My Favorite juice for healthy skin and hair

Image

I recently (finally) remembered to get my juicer back from my moms house, I have been going a little juice crazy and I found this juice on pinterest and love it, it’s mild and a good “beginner” juice. A lot of the super green juice recipes can take a bit of getting used to… Just sayin’ but this one with cucumber and apple is mild and sweet, omit the lemon if you need to (I added small amounts at first and worked up because I honestly am not a lemon fan.)

Since cucumbers are 96% water they make the perfect juice veggie. They hydrate skin with valuable nutrients. When applied externally, the astringent properties in cucumbers draw out dirt and cleanse the pores and reduce puffiness around the eyes.  They are very high in silica which gives you strong hair, nails and skin.  The potassium in celery juice helps to regulate body fluid and stimulate urine production, making it an important help to rid the body of excess fluid. Often after few days of drinking celery juice your face and neck look slimmer and you lose bloat.  Ginger has antiseptic properties and keeps the skin clear and blemish free. Apples are loaded with beta carotene and apple peels are particularly rich in polyphenols which offer antioxidant and anti-inflammatory protection to slow aging of skin.

Ingredients

  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 apple
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1 inch ginger
  • 1/2 lemon

Directions

Wash all veggies and fruit. leave skin on if organic. Lightly peel or wash with a fruit veggie wash to remove pesticides if not organic.

Juice the cucumber first, followed by the apple, ginger, lemon and celery.

Drink plain or pour over ice and enjoy your cool refreshing cucumber juice !

5 thoughts on “My Favorite juice for healthy skin and hair

  1. Yummy! This is my favorite juice combo, never knew the benefits though. I’m super excited to follow this and start juicing again. I would love to see a post about the benefits of juicing vs blending… I’ve heard the pulp is needed for its fiber. Thoughts? Yay! Finally a blog that applies to me! 🙂

  2. Yummy! This is my favorite juice combo, but I never knew the benefits of it. I’m super excited to follow this and get back into juicing and other wellness eating habits. I would love to get your thoughts on juicing versus blending. I’ve heard the pulp is needed for its fiber and juicing is not as beneficial. Thoughts?

    • Trish- Thanks for reading! Hmm, I really never gave it a lot of thought, I enjoy both juices and smoothies, I think you have to be careful juicing fruits because without the pulp and fiber it makes the sugar hit your bloodstream faster, so I try not to do only fruit juices.

  3. Pingback: Get 2014 off to a healthy start with a Luscious Green Juice | luscious juice bar bedford

Leave a Reply

